A Boat is Always Safe at Harbor…

One of my biggest issues is that I don’t have a passion.  Not to say I’m not a passionate person, it’s just that there isn’t anything that I do, that I can think of a way to make a living with.  People say, “do what you love” but I’m not sure what I love.  I enjoy making things like jewelry and scrapbooks but that’s just fun.  When I have to make the same thing over and over, it gets boring.  I once made a bunch of duct tape wallets for willing to pay co-workers, I haven’t made any since!  I like interior decorating but have limited skills in that department. I snowboard, I have my motorcycle license but I’m not talented enough in each to make much money off of them.

I can start with what I don’t love and therefore what I don’t want to do.  I don’t want to sit in front of a computer and punch numbers into spreadsheets.  I want to do something that’s fun and if it’s not fun, I hope I’m at least making a difference in the world.

My current retail job feels safe and that’s scary.  I left once and I’m afraid to leave again.   I’m comfortable, happy enough, content, but I’m not thrilled.  Since I graduated high school I always answered the common question, “What do you want to do for a living?” with, “I don’t know but, I do know that I want to be a mom someday.”  Is it wrong to want to be a housewife in this day and age?  My problem is that I like to shop and I think I’d have a major issue spending someone else’s money.

There is a quote I’ve been thinking about for a while, “A boat is always safe in the harbor, but that’s not what boats are built for.”  I’m just looking for some inspiration.

3 thoughts on “A Boat is Always Safe at Harbor…

  1. Move abroad for a year and live in a place with no more than a small fraction of the GDP of your home area. That is the most foolproof way to “find direction.”

  2. You are not alone, Allison. Torri struggled with this too, pursued her passion as close as was possible within the available resources. She considered more education, but ultimately decided her passion was just not the job she wanted to do the rest of her life – for a number of sound reasons. She had some great adventures and cemented her independence while exploring her passion, so to me it was time well-spent. She is currently gaining more marketable job skills in her retail position and is also soon to be a Mommy. Most people don’t choose what they wind up doing for most of their lives; they just find themselves following a path that opened up while they were trying to decide what to do with their lives. So just stay open-minded to the paths you come across while you are biding your time in your retail job. Eventually you will find yourself following a path that, if not perfect, fits good enough and leads you to a good life. You are an intelligent and personable young woman and good things will come to you in good time. Just keep your spirit of adventure so that when a new path pops up, you will not be afraid to take a chance on it. I enjoy reading your blog posts – keep them coming! Hugs to you!

  3. Pingback: A Ship in the Harbor is Safe… | Roomer Blog

Leave a Reply

